Student Union Statement of Purpose:

The Student Union serves to foster community and enhance student learning and development on the CI campus by providing exceptional services, supporting holistic programming, creating regular opportunities for staff development, and maintaining an environmentally responsible facility.

History of the Student Union:

In 2006 students approved a referendum to increase their fees to fund a new Student Union; the referendum was approved by 73 percent of the voting student body. The planning and construction of the building was a collaboration between students, staff, and faculty. The Union is located in the center of the campus in what was formerly the University library. During construction sustainability was a major priority; much of the building consists of the re-use of the existing building where the University was able to recycle 540 tons of concrete and 42 tons of steel.

The building is equipped with green technology such as lighting control and sustainable flooring material. The Student Union includes a large dining area that features a coffee house, the Freudian Sip, and dining, the Lighthouse Cafe. A Tree House Courtyard which features preserved sycamore and pepper trees. A game room with flat screen TVs, pool tables, shuffle board, table tennis, air hockey and gaming consoles. Lounge areas located in the East Wing and the Tree House Lounge. Offices of the Student Government, Student Programming Board, the Nautical yearbook, the CI View newspaper, the S.E.A.L. Center, and ASI staff.

Student Union Organizational Chart:

ASI Staff Organizational Chart (PDF, 99.4KB)

Our Sustainability Efforts

The CI Student Union Building was designed in consideration of sustainability from the start of the project, through design, and now, selecting furniture and finishes. The most sustainable feature is the adaptive re-use of a large portion of the existing structure, extending the life of resources used in its initial construction. This is augmented by retention of mature trees, minimized footprint, and efficient structural, mechanical, and lighting systems. The final sustainable touch is the selection of building finishes and furnishings.

For more on Student Union sustainable practices, review our Celebration of Excellence Poster. Student Union Sustainability Poster (PDF, 453.87KB)

Student Union Staff:

Ashley Ebberson: Ask Ashley how she can help you, especially with putting on events in the Student Union.

Email: ashley.ebberson970@csuci.edu

Emily Sentianin: Ask Emily how she can help you today.

Email: emily.sentianin284@csuci.edu

Aron Uribe: Ask Aron how he can help you today, especially with putting on events in the Student Union.

Email: aron.uribe655@csuci.edu

Aryn Christenson: Ask Aryn how she can help you today.

Email: aryn.christenson344@csuci.edu

Sarah Carpenter: Ask Sarah how she can help you today, especially with putting on events in the Student Union.

Email: sarah.carpenter622@csuci.edu

Karina Casarez: Ask Karina how she can help you today.

Email: karina.casarez757@csuci.edu

Jennifer Burkhard: Ask Jennifer how she can help you today, especially with putting on events in the Student Union. 

Email: jennifer.burkhard868@csuci.edu

Lorraine Foronda: Ask Lorraine how she can help you today.

Email: lorraine.foronda419@csuci.edu

Ashley Mayer: Ask Ashley how she can help you today, especially with putting on events in the Student Union.

Email: ashley.mayer597@csuci.edu

Kaylee Peterson: Ask Kaylee how she can help you today.

Email: kaylee.peterson491@csuci.edu

Gabriella Lago: Ask Gabriella how she can help you today.

Email: gabriella.lago541@csuci.edu

Lundon Templeton (Office Assistant): Ask Lundon about the ASI budget.

Email: lundon.templeton@csuci.edu

Christine Thompson: ASI Associate Director

Email: christine.m.thompson@csuci.edu

Genesis DeLong: ASI Assistant Director

Email: Genesis.DeLong@csuci.edu

Diana Ballesteros: ASI Facility Specialist

Email: diana.ballesteros868@csuci.edu

Ben Blanchard: ASI Graphic Designer

Email: benjamin.blanchard656@csuci.edu